Romans 1:20- The Key Verse for my Research

by Navy Christian

 

img_0246Before we even get going, let me share with you the verse in question:

For his invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature, have been clearly perceived, ever since the creation of the world, in the things that have been made. So they are without excuse.

Romans 1:20 is what I call the 2nd intersection of God’s creation revelation. Through the apostle Paul, God informed his followers that creation would support his claims as Creator. What does this mean? I propose 2 points.

1. Creation itself will tell us what God did at the creation point. What this means, I’m afraid (for some of you) is that the evidence of modern science must fit in somewhere with the creation story. Otherwise, there is no creation story. Since it is mankind reading the Bible who has placed a restriction on the age of the earth, not the Bible itself, we must learn to work through our presuppositions and find the truth from the Bible AND creation.

2. In the end, when all of the dust settles, people will be without excuse. If God did create the world, and if modern scientists ought to be able to learn about his creative acts through creation, then they are wildly off base when they claim it happened by chance. While Paul was talking more about pagan gods and Roman deities when he wrote Romans 1:20, we can reasonably extrapolate that to our modern situation.

My research continues of course, but I believe fervently that there is a viable intersection between the data that modern science is presenting and our ancient scriptures. I’m not completely certain as to what that intersection looks like, but I keep progressing down the road to find out. Stay with me on this journey and we’ll find out together!

