Resources for your Research (Part One)

by Navy Christian

This is a general post on places to conduct your own research. I will create these posts periodically as I use websites, books, and other materials to write these blog posts and my book.

Part One of this post series is Young Earth and Old Earth Creation sources.

Young Earth Creation (Preferred term is Biblical Creationism)

Answers in Genesis is probably the best YEC website available, in my opinion. It is a self-professed apologetics site “dedicated to helping Christians defend their faith and proclaim the gospel of Jesus Christ effectively. We focus on providing answers to questions about the Bible—particularly the book of Genesis—regarding key issues such as creation, evolution, science, and the age of the earth.” When I want an overview of the current model of defense in the traditional, Fundamentalist view of Biblical creation, I go here.

Institute for Creation Research. I remember receiving, through my paternal grandma, newsletters from ICR when I was in the early years of my Navy career. She would write notes on the pages and send them to me. Sometimes they came with cookies, sometimes not. I probably have some stashed in books in my personal library still. They present their work with a thoroughly Biblical framework, which means they are also an apologetics website.

Old Earth Creation

Reasons to Believe is the best source I’ve found for OEC, though it simply states that it wants only to educate Christians on the integration of faith and science. I have come to love this site. Should I ever join a group someday, this would probably be the group, and I have enjoyed getting to know the local Jacksonville, FL chapter.

OldEarth.org The Old Earth website is full of information which seeks, in many ways, to do the same thing that I do in the ExamineScience Project. At the heart of what I believe is this old earth creationism, just as the authors of this site do. Whether you agree with them or not (and I’m still investigating it myself), it doesn’t make them less Christian to believe outside of the traditional six day creation of fundamental Christianity.

Evidence for God has a great post on what old earth creationists believe. If you’re interested in a fairly comprehensive position paper on OEC, this site has a great one to begin your study.

Got Questions has a great article on OEC that presents the information in an unbiased manner, though the author recognizes his presuppositions. Sadly, the author’s name isn’t mentioned, so I don’t have a way to thank him/her for the very good article.

As mentioned in the intro to this post, I will be creating more posts as I continue my research. My goal will always be to provide you with the best data available so you can arm your children with a better understanding of God’s creation and so you can see how you became you!

Of course I would always recommend that you go to your local library and conduct research of your own the old fashioned way…offline! I’ve enjoyed it very much myself. But, to get you started, here are some places to go. Enjoy your journey!

