Creation, Evolution, and Cystic Fibrosis (Part Three)

by Navy Christian

In our last post, I mentioned in passing that the cystic fibrosis mutation is estimated to be at least 50,000 years old and the tuberculosis bacteria is roughly 40,000 years old. For the creationist, this might be difficult to accept, especially in light of what groups like Answers in Genesis and the like tell us.

The simple fact is that I don’t think the Bible tells us anything about how long we’ve been here, so seeing time estimations like that isn’t anything to be concerned about in my opinion. Furthermore, seeing that humans have been on the earth for an estimated 150,000 years is not worrisome.[1]

Yet for some, it might just be too much to grasp. I understand that. I’m not even saying modern science is right. I believe it may be that modern science enjoys those spans of time because it gives scientists the ability to support evolution. The single most important element in evolutionary science is time. It must have been billions of years…it took that long to make us from nothing!

So it is entirely possible that the age of the earth, the length of time that man has been around, and the age of cystic fibrosis and tuberculosis are all overestimated. However, the math seems to work out. In the absence of any real timeline from Genesis or the rest of the Bible, I believe it’s safe to assume we’ve been here longer than my fellow fundamentalists suggest.

I will get into the age expectations and allowances in the Bible at a later date. Suffice to say, some will be very upset by my writing and I understand that. All I’m attempting to accomplish is to open up the valve of our understanding a little. We cannot be afraid of what we’ll find.

Sign up HERE for more updates as they become available.

Notes:

[1] Smith, Cameron M, The Fact of Evolution. Prometheus Books, Amherst, NY. 2010. P 215.

